Select Page

The Houston Astros are one of the most successful teams in baseball history. They have won two World Series Championships and five division titles. Over the years, they have had some incredible players wear their uniforms. In this blog post, we will look at the greatest players in Houston Astro’s history.

1) Craig Biggio

Craig Biggio is the greatest player in Houston Astros history. He played his entire 20-year career with the Astros and was a seven-time All-Star. He is the all-time leader in hits, doubles, and runs scored for the Astros. He also ranks second in home runs and RBIs. In 1997, he led the National League in doubles and runs scored. In 1998, he led all of baseball with 213 hits. He was also an excellent defender at the catcher, second base, and center field.

2) Jose Altuve

Jose Altuve is the greatest second baseman in Astros history. He has won three batting titles (2014, 2016, and 2017) and two Silver Slugger awards (2016-2017). In 2014, he led all of baseball with 225 hits. In 2017, he was named the American League MVP after hitting a .346 batting average and leading the Astros to their first World Series title in franchise history. He is a five-time All-Star and Gold Glove award winner.

3) Nolan Ryan

Nolan Ryan is the greatest pitcher in Astros history. He pitched for the Astros from 1980 to 1988 and was a four-time All-Star. In his time with the Astros, he won a Cy Young award (1981) and an MVP award (1987). He ranks first all-time in strikeouts (2700), innings pitched (4729.0), and games started (672). He is also the only pitcher in history to have struck out over 5000 batters.

4) Jeff Bagwell

Jeff Bagwell is the most significant first baseman in Astros history. He played for the Astros from 1991-to 2005 and was a four-time All-Star. He won the MVP award in 1994 after hitting .368 with 39 home runs and 103 RBIs. He also won the Rookie of the Year award in 1991 after hitting .294 with 20 home runs and 82 RBIs. He ranks first all-time in hits (1994), doubles (1996), and total bases (2002) for the Astros.

These are just a few of the greatest players in Houston Astro’s history. Many other great players have worn the Astros uniform, including Carlos Beltran, Roy Oswalt, and Lance Berkman. The Astros are sure to produce more great players in the future.